Man fools ATM probably using default system password

18 10 2006

By the way, as I just wrote about cards and payment systems, I thought that the news below could be relevant.

I have just read in Bruce Schneier’s Cryptogram that a man used system codes, probably taken from an ATM manual, to fool an ATM to hand him more money than it should. The machine was handing out US$20 bills thinking they were US$5 bills.

There are speculations that the trick involved the use of a default password on the ATM.

I’ve found a video on YouTube with the CNN story:

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 10 2006
John Keen

Very Interesting! People should learn not to deploy their systems with default passwords!

6 05 2007
John

I LOVED this video. Being in the atm business myself, I came to realize that security should never be forgotten. Never leave any passwords from the manufacturer at the default setting ever!

19 01 2008
Kevin

As an ex-con myself, nice work. Keep messing up and we’ll just keep profiting.

14 08 2013
Royce

Thanks for your effort for composing “Man
fools ATM probably using default system password
| Daniel’s Blog”. I actuallymight really wind up being returning for a lot more reading through and commenting soon enough. Many thanks, Winfred

Leave a Reply

